SHR
Training Disclaimer

As of 6/19/2020, we will no longer accept handgun training certificates issued by GUNS FOR EVERYONE or the instructor Edgar Antillon that were issued in 2020 to students who took online training.  We conducted our own investigation and found this type of training does not comply with the state's training requirements.

A message from Sheriff Smith about responsible gun ownership.

Please read ALL of the following application information.

We will resume normal CHP application processing on Monday, May 4, 2020 with a few modifications to follow the current Safer-at-Home orders regarding the COVID-19 pandemic.  NOTE:  We are no longer accepting walk-ins that require fingerprinting services.

  1. Download and print out the application packet below.  If you do not have the means to print it, call 970-498-5157 or email mcdonoab@larimer.org and request one to be mailed to you.
  2. Fill out the entire application packet, including the affidavit (everyone) and supplemental questionnaire (those not US citizens).
  3. To schedule your appointment call 970-498-5100 and enter 94 when you hear the attendant’s voice.
  4. Before coming to the LCSO administration building at 2501 Midpoint Drive in Fort Collins
    1.  Check your body temperature.  If you have a fever, DO NOT show up for your appointment.  Call to cancel your appointment and reschedule.
    2. If you have any symptoms of COVID-19 (respiratory symptoms, fever, cough, shortness of breath and breathing difficulties), DO NOT show up for your appointment.  Call to cancel your appointment and reschedule. 
  5. Arrive at 2501 Midpoint Drive in Fort Collins with your completed application packet at the time of your appointment.  YOU MUST WEAR A FACE COVERING WHILE INSIDE THE BUILDING, or you will be asked to leave.  Maintain six feet of social distancing from others inside the building.  Bring a check, cash, or credit card to pay the $132.50 fee.  Deputies will take your photograph and fingerprints after verifying your application packet is complete.
  6. Staff will conduct CCIC/NCIC and local records checks, and if no prohibiting circumstances are discovered, your permit will be mailed to your residence within 120 days-depending on the current backlog.

Larimer County Sheriff’s Office
2501 Midpoint Drive
Fort Collins, CO 80525

NOTE: Application appointments are accepted between the hours of 8am and 4pm, Monday-Friday (except holidays).

When you apply for a concealed handgun permit (CHP) at the Larimer County Sheriff’s Office, a total processing fee of $132.50 in the form of a credit card (additional fee applies), cash, cashier’s check, money order, or personal check made payable to Larimer County Sheriff’s Office is required.  This fee pays for forms, ID cards, local criminal history checks, other administrative costs to maintain your 5-year permit, a state and national criminal history check (fingerprints), and an Insta-check (NICS) per Statute.

Application Packet

Names of CHP holders are NOT public record. Information may be shared with another criminal justice agency upon request for law enforcement purposes or for the purpose of determining the validity of the permit.

CHP Application Packet (3 documents):

By Colorado State Statute, the use of illegal drugs is a disqualifier for issuance of a concealed handgun permit.  While the limited possession and conditional use of marijuana is no longer a violation of Colorado Statute, it is still a violation of United States Code.  If you use, possess, cultivate or distribute marijuana, we cannot issue you a concealed handgun permit.

If you provide false information on your permit application regarding illegal drug use or any other requested information, you can be charged with perjury pursuant to CRS 18-8-503.

CHP Status Change

Complete this form for Address Change, Lost, Destroyed, or Stolen CHP

Complete this form for Legal Name Change 

Forms can be brought into our office or mailed in. See address above.

CHP Renewal Information

CHP Renewal Requirements

Contact the CHP Coordinator at (970) 498-5157 if you are a Larimer County resident and have a CHP issued by another county.

Reciprocity

Some states may honor your permit. As this information is determined, it will be posted on the Colorado Bureau of Investigation’s Concealed Handgun Permit Reciprocity page.

Retired Law Enforcement Officer Concealed Firearm Program (HR-218)

The Sheriff maintains qualifications for LEOSA/HR-218 compliance. Details of qualification, application and renewal forms, and authorizing legislation are available on our information page.

FAQs

  1. Yes.  Please call 970-498-5100 and enter 94 when you hear the attendant's voice to schedule an appointment.  

  2. Processing times vary between 30-90 days. We can advise current processing time when you submit your application. If there is a question about your background, we will contact you by phone or by mail.

  3. We will mail your permit to you. 

  4. Yes. CBI requires that a new set of fingerprints be done for all new CHP applications.

  5. Yes we do if it was originally issued within the last 10 years.

  6. You need to locate a "certified instructor." They usually have classes at a shooting range, a sporting goods store, or independently. 

  7. A personally attended class given by a "certified instructor" is required. Internet-based training where no direct contact with an instructor, firearms, or physical environment is insufficient. Live fire is not required, but it is highly recommended.

    CRS 18-12-202 (2) A “certified instructor” is a person who is certified as a firearms instructor by:
    1. A county, municipal, state, or federal law enforcement agency
    2. Peace Officer Standards and Training board
    3. A federal military agency; or
    4. A national nonprofit organization that certifies firearms instructors (NRA).

    Please refer to the application packet for other forms of handgun training that we can accept. 

  8. Permits are not transferrable from county to county. Your permit is valid statewide. You will need to update your address with the original issuing agency so they can print a new permit with your current address. As of 2014, you will have to renew your permit in the county that you currently reside, own a business or own property.

  9. No, you can mail it in if your signature is notarized.  You need to return your valid permit when you receive the new one.

  10. You are required to notify us within 30 days or you could be subject to a Class 1 Petty Offense.

  11. Yes, we will mail a renewal packet to you about three months before your permit expires. If you no longer live in Larimer County you will need to contact the Sheriff's Office in your current county.

  12. Typically between 2-6 weeks, depending on our and CBI's workload.

  13. No. Only new applicants need to provide proof of firearms training.

  14. No. The Colorado Revised Statutes that were revised in 2003 state that those permits issued prior to May 17, 2003 were set to expire by June 30, 2007 instead of the current Sheriff's term. New permits issued after May 17, 2003 are now valid for a 5-year period. A letter was mailed in early 2007 to those permit holders that were affected by this change and were informed that they needed to renew their permit by June 30, 2007. If you did not receive this notice, please be advised that your permit has now permanently expired and you will need to reapply for a new permit. 

  15. You will have to renew in the county that you currently reside, own a business, or own property.  After you receive your new permit, please return your invalid Larimer County permit to us.

  16. Contact the CHP Specialist at (970) 498-5157 and request a renewal packet via mail or email.

  17. No. You only have up to 6 months past the expiration to renew it, after that it is permanently expired.

  18. Yes, if we reciprocate with that state and you have an out of state driver's license. Once you obtain a Colorado driver's license, your out-of-state permit is no longer reciprocal. 

  19. No. You must present your CO Drivers License or ID card when you submit your application. 

  20. No. We need to see your original firearms training certificate that was issued within the last 10 years by a "certified instructor." 

  21. You can check CO reciprocity on CBI's website for the most up-to-date information: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cbi/chpreciprocity.