Join the Board

Now accepting applications for board membership.
Deadline: 04/21/2019

Log In / Sign Up to Apply

You can also Print the application form, fill it out and mail it to:
County Commissioners' Office
P.O. Box 1190
Fort Collins, CO 80522
Or, obtain an application form at the County Commissioners' Office, 200 West Oak Street, Fort Collins, Colorado

View Current Agenda and Minutes

All land in Larimer County is zoned. The zone represents the permitted uses on a parcel of land. Permitted uses reflect many things like historical uses such as agriculture and current uses such as what is expected by the neighbors. The Land Use Code spells out what is allowed where. Sometimes residents will want to do something different than what is allowed in the Land Use Code on a parcel of land. Sometimes they need more clarification. The Board of Adjustment is the body that hears and decides requests for variances, clarification, and interpretation. Example: If someone wanted to build a structure closer to a property line than is currently allowed in the rules, they would have to ask the Board of Adjustment for a variance. Whether they are allowed the variance depends on a list of criteria.

According to State Statutes, any county that has zoning regulations is required to provide for a Board of Adjustment, specifically for the purpose of hearing and deciding upon appeals. Appeals to the Board of Adjustment may be taken by any person aggrieved by his/her inability to obtain a building permit or by any order, requirement or decisions made by an administrative officer or agency in the administration, interpretation or enforcement of the provisions of the zoning resolution.

The Larimer County Land Use Code, Sec. 22.3, Appeals to the Board of Adjustment and Sec. 4.6, Variances spell out the applicable requirements. The decisions made by the Board of Adjustment are final, but can be appealed to the appropriate court.

Number of Members: 
5 (plus 2 alternate)
Term Length: 
3 Years
Organization Type: 
Time Commitment: 
3-4 hours per month

Fourth Tuesday of every month, 6:00 p.m. preceded by an afternoon field trip (as needed)
Larimer County Courthouse Offices Building, Hearing Room, 200 West Oak Street, Fort Collins
For the exact date/time and locations of meetings held this week, refer to the Commissioners' schedule.

Email the entire board (

Board Members

Name Email Term Start Term End
Carol Cochrane
Email Carol
Christine Pardee
Email Christine
Jeffrey Schneider
Email Jeffrey
Jim Pisula
Alternate Member
Email Jim
Joseph Wise
Email Joseph
Lee Taylor
Email Lee
Commissioner Liaison: 
Staff Liaison: 
Administrative Contact: