Larimer County Offices, Courts & District Attorney are closed Friday, July 3 for Independence Day
Landfill, Hazardous Waste and Recycle Center are open Friday, July 3 but closed Saturday, July 4
Landfill Business Office are closed July 3 & 4
Critical services at Larimer County will not be disrupted by this closure.
Larimer County Clerk & Recorder - Verification of Death Document Offers Recording Option
Department: Clerk & Recorder
Release Date: Jul 17, 2014
Media Contact: Angela Myers, Larimer County Clerk & Recorder 970/498-7852
Recording Office: 970/498-7860
Angela Myers, Larimer County Clerk and Recorder, announces a second Recording option for property transfers involving the death of a loved one. Up until July 1st, the recording of a Death Certificate was required in order to verify the identity of a property owner prior to the transfer of property ownership. A Death Certificate contains a great deal of personal information which can create concerns regarding HIPAA privacy regulations as well as identity theft. Once a Death Certificate is recorded, the personal information of the deceased becomes public record.
Myers states, “Currently, Colorado law does not allow for the redaction of personal information by the County on recorded documents.”
Through a collaboration of the Colorado Bar, Title, Assessors, and County Clerks Associations, amendments were made to a number of State statutes which allow the use of a Verification of Colorado Death Record form in lieu of a death certificate.
“The Verification of Colorado Death Record provides the bare minimum of information needed to allow verification of identity by the Assessor’s office for purposes of property transfer,” states Myers.
“This form has been in use by vehicle titling for the last eight years in order to transfer the ownership of a vehicle when a loved one has passed away. It makes sense that it can now be used for property transfers as well.”
Myers adds, “To the best of our ability and in accordance with the laws of Colorado, we want to protect the identity of our citizens as much as possible.”
When a property is owned by two people who are vested as "joint tenants with rights of survivorship," and one of the owners passes away, the process for updating the property record is simple:
Obtain a certified copy of the "Verification of Death" document for the decedent, which is issued by the Larimer County Department of Health and Environment, Vital Statistics Office, for deaths occurring within Larimer County (http://larimer.org/health/admin/vital.asp
). A certified copy of this record costs $20.00.
Record the "Verification of Death" document with the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder, Recording Department for $11.00 (http://larimer.org/clerk/recording/recording.htm
). The original "Verification of Death" will be mailed back to you in approximately 7-10 days.
After recording, the information is automatically forwarded to the Larimer County Assessor's Office. The vesting of the property is then verified and the property record is updated appropriately. You may verify the information on your current property record here: http://larimer.org/assessor/query/search.cfm
The entire process takes approximately one to two weeks to complete.
Information regarding this and other recording processes can be found at www.larimer.org/clerk/recording or by calling 970-498-7860.
We ask for your login to prevent computer generated spam in the comments. Your email address is not shown. Do not expect answers from the county for questions posed here. Use the contact information above for specific questions.
Terms & Conditions
No comments yet.