Crews will be using heavy construction equipment so the main trailhead will be closed for public safety.

Posted: 
Mon, 08/19/2019 - 8:59am
Department: 
Natural Resources

Wolfwood staff will host educational programs, focusing on the myths and misinformation about wolves and wolfdogs.

Posted: 
Mon, 07/15/2019 - 9:15am
Department: 
Natural Resources

Applications are now being accepted for Larimer County Department of Natural Resources’ Small Grants for Community Partnering program for the 2020 grant cycle.  Apply by Friday, Sept. 13, for a grant up to $3,000 per project.

Posted: 
Tue, 07/09/2019 - 2:51pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Larimer County Natural Resources wrapped up restoration work at River Bluffs Open Space to make the river and its floodplain more resilient to flooding and ensure it provides healthy habitat for fish and wildlife.

Posted: 
Tue, 07/09/2019 - 11:57am
Department: 
Natural Resources

Volunteers may sign up for multi-day sessions from Sept. 15-20, Sept. 22-27 and Sept. 29 - Oct. 4. Complementary camping is available at nearby Horsetooth Reservoir.

Posted: 
Tue, 07/02/2019 - 11:14am
Department: 
Natural Resources

Crews will be using heavy construction equipment, so the park, located on the east side of Horsetooth Reservoir, will be closed for public safety.

Posted: 
Thu, 06/20/2019 - 2:58pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Larimer County Natural Resources will collect hygiene products for service members on Monday, May 27 in the parking lot of the department's Administrative Offices in honor of the valor of Army Spc. Gabriel Conde​​​​.

Posted: 
Wed, 05/15/2019 - 2:56pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Before heading out to enjoy Larimer County's parks and open space, visitors should be aware of a few new or amended regulations intended to keep open spaces wild places where people can connect with nature.

Posted: 
Tue, 05/07/2019 - 2:05pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Boat ramp hours will be extended starting Wednesday, May 1, and all ramps will be open.

Posted: 
Wed, 04/24/2019 - 1:22pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

The closure will allow crews to grade and perform seasonal maintenance on roads. All campgrounds and trails within Hermit Park will be closed.

Posted: 
Fri, 04/12/2019 - 2:18pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

The gate system is located at the South Bay day use area and ramp at Horsetooth Reservoir. A similar system will be installed at the North Pines boat ramp at Carter Lake by April 15.

Posted: 
Mon, 04/08/2019 - 11:57am
Department: 
Natural Resources

The Larimer County Weed District and Forestry Program will begin summer hours starting Monday, April 8, 2019.

Posted: 
Mon, 04/01/2019 - 2:35pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

The start date for the boating season is dependent upon weather and ice on the reservoirs.

Posted: 
Thu, 03/21/2019 - 3:55pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Red Mountain Open Space, located north of Fort Collins, is open from sunrise to sunset from March 1 to Nov. 30. 

Posted: 
Wed, 02/27/2019 - 1:38pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Hermit Park, located two miles southeast of Estes Park, will have a limited opening following a seasonal winter closure.

Posted: 
Tue, 02/26/2019 - 3:45pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Larimer County rangers and state wildlife officers have completed their assessment of mountain lion activity, but visitors should remember Horsetooth Mountain Open Space is a wild place. There's always a chance of encountering wildlife on the trail.

Posted: 
Wed, 02/13/2019 - 8:20am
Department: 
Natural Resources

Larimer County Natural Resources is proud to announce $20,783 in grants to support eight community and neighborhood projects that help connect people to the land.

Posted: 
Mon, 02/11/2019 - 2:10pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Larimer County rangers continue to work with state wildlife officers to determine when it's safe to reopen.

Posted: 
Fri, 02/08/2019 - 4:23pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Larimer County rangers will reassess the situation on Friday, Feb. 8 with Colorado Parks and Wildlife officers for a possible reopening.

Posted: 
Tue, 02/05/2019 - 12:55pm
Department: 
Natural Resources

Daylan Figgs brings more than 28 years of experience in conservation and outdoor recreation to the position.

Posted: 
Wed, 01/30/2019 - 3:50pm
Department: 
Natural Resources