

Engineering Department 200 W Oak St, Fort Collins, 80522 | 3rd Floor (970) 498-7683 / larimer.org/Engineering

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

## 2020 TCEF Post-Fire Rebuild Plan Q & A

- Q: What are TCEFs? Why are these fees charged on building permits?
- Answer: Transportation Capital Expansion Fees (TCEFs) are fees assessed on building permits for uses that generate additional vehicle trips to help fund improvements to increase the capacity of the mainline public road system that are needed as a result of the new trafficgenerating uses. TCEFs were first assessed in Larimer County on February 15, 1999. The most recent TCEF Study update was effective July 1, 2018.



Q: Will Transportation Capital Expansion Fees be waived for repair or replacement of buildings destroyed or damaged in the Cameron Peak Fire?

Answer: Sections 9.5.6.B.3 & 9.6.7.B.3 of the Larimer County Land Use Code (LCLUC) allows for exemptions for TCEFs for the replacement of a destroyed or partially-destroyed building or structure of the same size and use, provided that no additional trips will be produced above those produced by the original use of the land. Whether this exemption applies may depend on when the home was originally built, whether it was built with a building permit, and whether the new home is larger than the original one. Specifically:

- TCEF's will not be assessed when either:
  - o The structure was built prior to Feb 15, 1999, with or without a County building permit.
  - o The structure was built with a building permit initiated before July 1, 2018.
- TCEF's will be assessed when either:
  - The structure was constructed without a building permit on or after Feb 15, 1999. (The fee will be assessed based on the total proposed living space under the current TCEF Schedule.)
  - The structure was built with a building permit initiated on or after July 1, 2018 AND the owner is proposing to increase the finished living space. (The fee will be assessed based on the increased area and the tiered fee structure
    <u>became effective July 1, 2018</u>)