LARIMER COUNTY | COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

P.O. Box 1190, Fort Collins, Colorado 80522-1190, Planning (970) 498-7683, Building (970) 498-7700, Larimer.org

Oil and Gas Task Force Minutes for Meeting #1 - June 20, 2019 Held at County Building, 200 W. Oak St., Fort Collins

The following minutes are a high-level summary of the proceedings because a video recording is available. For a more thorough review of the proceedings please refer to the following video recording of the meeting:

https://fortcollinstv.viebit.com/player.php?hash=ICg1B3XJ9bvS

- 4:35 Community Development Director, Lesli Ellis, and Board of County Commissioner, John Kefalas, opened the meeting with a welcome greeting and statement of the overall objectives for the meeting (introductory session). Commissioner Kefalas emphasized the anticipated results of the Task Force are a balanced approach and set of standards for the evaluation and development of oil and gas resources in Larimer County.
- 4:45 Principal Planner, Matt Lafferty, led the task force members, liaisons and staff through an ice breaker exercise during which all members shared why they wanted to be on the task force and a little about their interests and backgrounds.
- 5:15 Lesli Ellis reviewed the purpose and charter of the task force, and re-affirmed ground rules and communication practices for the task force and public. She emphasized that the public is welcome at the meetings to observe the task force in action and stated that public comments should be provided in writing or via webpage.
- 5:45 Matt Lafferty shared background information regarding oil and gas development in the state and county. Mr. Lafferty also presented an overview of the web page (www.larimer.org/planning/oil-and-gas-task-regulations-force), still being developed, and indicated that it will be constantly updated with information. The page will soon include an email address for the public to send comments to staff to be shared with the Task Force periodically before meetings.

The Task Force members provided discussion and input on the status of the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (COGCC) with regards to the recently adopted Senate Bill 19-181 and how the task force would proceed with local regulations given the changes at the state level. Several members of the task force asked questions and provided observations regarding topics such as





air quality, construction access, operator agreements. The Task Force members will prioritize topics for regulation and for discussion and focus by the group at coming meetings. The task force, liaisons and staff will strive to accomplish standards and processes that best serve the interests of the county and the communities within and around the county.

6:15 - The task force meeting concluded with an overview of the future schedule of meetings and activities which are now posted on the project webpage. The task force was assigned a homework exercise involving completion of everybody's prioritized list of objectives to be addressed over the next few months.

6:30 - Adjourn

Attendees:

Task Force: Andy Peterson, Angela Snyder, Arsineh Hecobian, Craig Harrison, Doug Ryan,

James Godbold, Jeffrey Martin, Jon Turner, Julie Palmer, Kate Graves,

Kimberly Mendoza-Cooke, Mary Bodesky, Richard Alper, and Thomas Borch.

Winston Shero was not in attendance.

Liaison: Anne Johnson, Jennifer Lee, Jon Slutsky, Kristin Grazier, and Sherri Valentine.

Staff: Frank Haug, Lesli Ellis, Matt Lafferty, Meegan Flenniken, and Tom Butts

Commissioners: Commissioner John Kefalas