The Larimer County Sheriff's Office is led by Sheriff Justin E. Smith, who is serving his third term in office. He was elected to the Office of Sheriff in January, 2011 and has been with LCSO for more than 20 years.

Larimer County spans 2,640 square miles extending west to the continental divide and north to the Wyoming border.  More than 330,000 residents reside within Larimer County, with over 70,000 living in the unincorporated areas.

We Are - One Agency, One Mission: Public Safety

Our Mission is to protect and preserve life, liberty and property by providing superior public safety services in Larimer County.

More than 400 employees work for the Sheriff's Office serving the citizens of Larimer County.  An annual budget of almost 56 million dollars is used to operate the agency in order to fulfill the statutory duties of the Sheriff.

The statutory duties of the Sheriff are:

·        Law Enforcement
·        Keeper of the Jail
·        Officer of the Court
·        Court Security
·        Transportation of Prisoners
·        Fire Warden
·        Search and Rescue
·        Hazardous Materials

The Larimer County Sheriff's Office is divided into four divisions:

·        Support Services - Undersheriff John Manago
·        Patrol - Captain Mike Loberg
·        Investigations - Captain Robert Coleman
·        Jail - Captain Tim Palmer

In addition to the dedicated people who work at the Sheriff's Office, hundreds of committed volunteers assist us in our duties every day in order that we may better serve the citizens of Larimer County.