FAQs

  1. Online protest filing will be available for property owners in May for the 2020 protest period. Protests are accepted from May 1 until June 1. Standard office hours are from 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday. Protests can be filed either online, by letter or fax. Due to COVID-19, cannot accept in-person protests, but will accept protests through scheduled telephone conference or email. Review our Assessment Update for more information.

  2. The following calculation is used to determine your property tax: 

    Actual Value x Assessment Rate x Mill Levy / 1000 = Property Tax

    For example:

    • $300,000 Actual Value x 7.15% Assessment Rate = $21,450 Assessed Value
    • $21,450 Assessed Value x 86.49 mills/1000 = $1,855.21 tax bill
  3. The "Gallagher Amendment" to the Colorado Constitution requires that a relationship be maintained, on a statewide basis, between the amount of property tax paid on residential property and the amount paid on nonresidential property. The state legislature sets the residential assessment rate once every two years to maintain that relationship. The assessment rate on nonresidential property is fixed at 29%. The current residential assessment rate is 7.15%.

  4. All real property in Colorado is reappraised on a two-year cycle, in odd-numbered years. The actual value assigned to residential properties in 2019 and 2020 are based on market values as of June 30, 2018, as defined by sales of residential property in the 24-month period from July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018. All sales are trended to the end of the data collection period.

  5. Each property in the county has a set of characteristics that are used by the model. Some examples are its location, living area square footage, basement square footage (finished and non), style, quality, garage square footage, lot features, etc. These variables may be reviewed on sold properties used in the model in order to estimate value of the properties. The model is then applied to both sold and unsold properties. See Impacts to Residential Values for more information.

  6. Foreclosures represent the transfer of the property ownership to the lender due to loan default. These transactions do not give evidence of market value; typically representing the amount of the lien held by the lender, not the entire property value. In some cases, the lien amount may be more than the value of the property. These transactions are excluded from the Assessor's analysis.

    However, resale of foreclosures are considered. Unless the condition of the property at the time of sale indicates otherwise, these sales are deemed to be arm's length transactions and are used by the Assessor in the valuation process.

  7. The Assessor's Office uses exterior measurements of homes and buildings. This may cause the Assessor's estimate of square footage to differ from that estimated by the builder or Realtor since they frequently use interior measurements. The valuation procedures used by the Assessor are adjusted to account for the use of exterior measurements, which helps to assure correct values.

  8. According to Colorado Statute, the Assessor is required to gather and confirm sales within a time period of no less than eighteen-months ending on the June 30th of the year prior to a re-appraisal year, time adjusting each sale to the June 30th ending date. This data-gathering period is referred to as the Sales Study Period. For the 2019 and 2020 reappraisal, Larimer County is using 24 months of data for Residential property. This sales study period extends from July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2018. For vacant or commercial property the county uses 60 months of data. This period extends from July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2018.

  9. Market (sales) information is currently available for the entire 60-month period, (from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2018) in the Assessor's Office. This information is also available online. Check out the Larimer County Sales Search. Local real estate offices may be able to provide you with sales information.

  10. According to Colorado statute, market data must be analyzed in every reappraisal cycle to determine property values. The minimum amount of data is set at 18 months prior to the appraisal date (June 30 of the previous even numbered year). The maximum amount of data is 60 months prior to that date. Assessors are required to recognize the trends or market changes over that time and adjust all sales to the appraisal date. The actual value assigned to residential properties in 2019 and 2020 is based on market values as of June 30, 2018, as defined by sales of residential property in the 24-month period from July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018. All sales are trended to the end of the data collection period.

  11. Not really. You may appeal your property's actual value or classification to the Assessor. 

    Because your property's value is an important figure in the property tax equation, a different value or classification can have an effect on your property taxes. However, the level of taxation is determined by taxing authorities, not the Assessor. Questions about the level of taxation should be taken directly to the taxing authorities.

  12. In the 2006 General Election, Colorado voters passed Referendum E - Property Tax Exemption for Disabled Veterans. This extended the existing property tax exemption for qualifying seniors to any United States military veteran who is one hundred percent permanently disabled due to a service-connected disability. The change will reduce property taxes for qualified disabled veterans by exempting a portion of the value of their home from property taxation. 

    See Exemptions for Senior Citizens & Disabled Veterans for more information.

  13. See these instructions regarding the conversion.

  14. If you believe your property qualifies for classification as agriculture property, please read through the information found on our Agriculture Land page. The application can be found in the "Additional Information" section. Complete the application, attach any supporting documentation with the completed application, and submit it to the Larimer County Assessor's Office.

  15. Much of what your county assessor does is mandated at the state level. The Colorado Department of Property Taxation works with your state legislative committees to help develop the Assessors' Reference Library (ARL). This is a series of three manuals and a statutory index that addresses Colorado property assessment.

Bob Overbeck

Bob Overbeck, Larimer County Assessor

Read Biography
200 W. Oak Street, 2nd Floor
PO Box 1190
Fort Collins, CO 80522
Phone: (970) 498-7050
Hours:  Monday - Friday 7:30am - 4:30pm
Email: Overbebc@larimer.org