Cirque Meadows by Adam Johnson
> News & Community Info > News Releases > 36th Annual Judge Conrad L. Ball Award Honors Nancy Griffith-Conklin

News Release

36th Annual Judge Conrad L. Ball Award Honors Nancy Griffith-Conklin

Department: Board of County Commissioners
Release Date: May 8, 2014

Contact Information:

Tim Hand, Director, LC Community Corrections, (970) 498-7519
Nancy Griffith-Conklin, Community Corrections, (970) 498-7520,
FROM: Deni La Rue, Community Information Manager, (970) 498-7150,

Nancy Griffith-Conklin

The 36th Annual Judge Conrad L. Ball Award has been announced for 2014 and honors Nancy Griffith-Conklin as this year’s recipient. Griffith-Conklin receives the Judge Conrad L. Ball Award for contributing toward improving the quality of justice in Larimer County. She will be honored at the Annual Banquet, 6:30p.m., at the Fort Collins Country Club, 1920 Country Club Road, Fort Collins, on Friday, May 30. Nancy is the Business Operations Manager at Larimer County Community Corrections.

According to her nomination, Griffith-Conklin has contributed to the quality of Justice in Larimer County over several decades, playing an integral role in the development of new Community Corrections Programs; specifically, she developed and maintained all of the budgets for grants and contracts that fund specialized programs. These programs include Intensive Residential Treatment, Alternatives to Incarceration for Individuals with Mental Health Needs (AIIM), the Day Reporting Center, Juvenile Transportation Unit and the Short Term Intensive Remedial Residential Treatment. Nancy’s work with the County Budget Manager and Finance Director was essential to obtaining the approval for construction of a new Community Corrections facility in 2002, expanding capacity to provide residential services to over 300 offenders. 
Other nominees for 2014 were Lawrence Hollier of Larimer County Probation, Galen Kirchmer of Larimer County Probation, Donald Vagge of Fort Collins Police Services, and Chelsea Wilson of The SAVA (Sexual Assault Victim Advocate) Center. Citizens who would like to attend the event can contact Lindsay Murr at Larimer County Community Corrections, (970) 498-7512,
This year’s guest speaker is State Senator Pat Steadman, Senate District 31. The Larimer County Community Corrections Advisory Board, on behalf of the Board of County Commissioners, conducts the awards process. The Conrad Ball Award recipient, co-recipients, or team, are selected from among candidates nominated each year by colleagues, coworkers, and other citizens.
A complete list of recipients, dating back to the first recipient, the Honorable Conrad L. Ball in 1979, is located on the County’s web site, the Virtual Courthouse at:                               
Background Image: Cirque Meadows by Adam Johnson. All rights reserved.