Larimer County provides many services for its citizens. You can get information about those which can be found on our website from either an alphabetical or categorized list below. Use this list if you're not sure which department provides which services.
Most outdoor burning in Larimer County requires a permit signed by both your local fire protection district and the Larimer County Department of Health and Environment. The fire protection district evaluates applications for potential fire safety issues, while the health department evaluates air quality issues that can impact human health. Open burning in Larimer County is regulated by the Ordinance for the Regulation of Open Burning in Unincorporated Larimer County, Colorado and the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment/Air Pollution Control Division under Colorado Air Quality Control Commission's Regulation One and Regulation Nine. Open burning without a permit is illegal and can result in fines of up to $10,000 per day.
This website gives specific information about open burning in Larimer County and allows an applicant to fill out an on-line permit application and submit them electronically. Additionally, it is recommended that digital photos of the material you're requesting to burn be attached or downloaded onto the application (photos may preclude a site inspection and release the permit to you sooner). PLEASE review the following three sections which apply to ALL burn permits issued:
Routine yard and garden clean-up such as grass clippings, leaves, yard waste and old plants, hay
Construction debris, fencing and furniture
Household garbage, both indoors and outdoors
Materials that produce excessive smoke (plastic, rubber, paper, etc.)
Animal parts or carcasses
Open Burning Requirements
Notification must be made to the applicable Fire Dispatch on the day of and immediately before commencing burning. Persons must notify Fire Dispatch upon completion of the Open Burn.
If an Open Burn is to be conducted by someone other than the legal owner of the property, written permission must be obtained from the legal owner or his/her agent and provided as part of the permitting process prior to obtaining the Open Burn permit.
Open burns must be conducted 50 feet or more from any structures or combustible fence.
Local Fire Districts may have more restrictive codes, regulations , policies or standards. In those cases the more restrictive provisions apply.
There must be a minimum of 3 inches of snow cover around piles in areas 6000 feet in elevation or higher.
There shall be no burning when current or expected winds exceed 10 miles per hour.
Fires must be constantly attended by a competent and non-impaired person. The Open Burn Permit must be in possession of the person attending the open burn at all times.
Appropriate extinguishing equipment must be available and ready for immediate use.
Attend all fires until completely out.
All burning must be extinguished by nightfall.
There shall be no Open Burning during State or County authorized fire restrictions or bans.